GSMA Africa Policy Leaders Forum Where Leaders build the future

The most influential telecommunications leaders from across the continent gather at the GSMA’s prestigious Africa Policy Leaders Forum.

About the MWC Africa Policy Leaders Forum

Curated by the team behind the GSMA Ministerial Programme, the 2021 GSMA Africa Policy Leaders Forum will bring together key stakeholders from ministries, regulatory bodies and the broader mobile ecosystem to exchange views, and explore how mobile connectivity continues to transform the lives of billions and lay the foundations for digital inclusion in Africa.

The Policy Leaders Forum is an invitation-only event. Please see the attendance criteria below.


This year the Forum will consist of three plenary sessions taking place on 30 September 2021, from 12:30 CAT. The sessions will focus on three themes: Connectivity for Good, Accelerating the 4th Industrial revolution in Africa, and Ushering in the 5G era.

As well as the plenary sessions there will be two closed door round tables focused on Tax and Spectrum. These two sessions are by invitation only and spaces are limited – please contact the team if you’re interested in attending.

Attendance criteria:

  • National ministries including telecommunications, digital agenda, finance, gender and health
  • Telecommunications regulatory authorities, data protection authorities, identity authorities and central banks
  • Senior leadership from selected city governments
  • Senior representatives from selected international organisations and intergovernmental bodies
  • C-level and senior regulatory representatives from the mobile industry

To request an invitation please contact the team

The GSMA Policy work in Africa

The GSMA SSA policy team actively engages with policymakers and regulators to advance policy discourse, contribute to market research, and convey the perspectives of the mobile industry across the range of issues that surround the digital economy and society.

The team of 4 leading the work in various markets within Sub Saharan Africa comprises of: Kamal Tamawa (Southern Africa) Alain Betu (Central Africa), Caroline Mbugua, HSC (East Africa) and Seyni Malan Fati (West Africa).

Find out more

Policy Leaders Forum Headline Sponsor video:

Policy Leaders Forum Headline Sponsor

Policy Leaders Forum Supporting Sponsor